Dr. Hamed Okhravi is a Senior Staff member at MIT Lincoln Laboratory, where he leads programs and conducts research in the area of systems security. His research interests include cybersecurity, science of security, security evaluation, and operating systems. He is the recipient of two R&D 100 Awards (2020 and 2018), MIT Lincoln Laboratory's Best Invention Award (2019), Team Award (2015), National Security Agency's Annual Best Scientific Cybersecurity Paper Award (2015), and MIT Lincoln Laboratory's Early Career Technical Achievement Award (2014) for his work in computer security.

He is an Associate Editor of the IEEE Security & Privacy journal. He has also served twice as the Program Chair of the ACM Moving Target Defense (MTD) workshop, the Poster Chair of the IEEE Secure Development Conference, and a guest editor of the IEEE Security & Privacy – Special Issue on Hacking without Humans. In addition, he has served as a program committee member for a number of academic conferences and workshops including USENIX Security, ACM CCS, NDSS, RAID, ACM AsiaCCS, ICCAD, ACM MTD, MILCOM, ACNS, IEEE SecDev, and ACM SafeConfig, among others. He has also served on the National Science Foundation's Panel for the Secure and Trustworthy Cyberspace (SaTC) program.

Dr. Okhravi actively contributes to various national, Laboratory, and division-level strategic planning activities, and has led the development of multiple national-level R&D roadmaps. He has also led the development of multiple systems security technologies that have successfully transitioned outside and inside Lincoln Laboratory. His work has resulted in three U.S. patents and numerous publications in top-tier venues.

Dr. Okhravi’s current focus is researching and developing a Resilient Mission Computer, a new computer system design in which security is the core focus and multiple large classes of vulnerabilities are prevented by design.

Dr. Okhravi earned his MS and PhD degrees in electrical and computer engineering from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2006 and 2010, respectively.
Chair of Sessions
Research Manuscript
Embedded and Cross-Layer Security